Camp Circle Skull



Sioux Camp Circle Skull


Each year the seven political divisions (or council fires) of the Sioux gathered for feasting, dancing and renewal. By tradition, each group - the Mdewakanton, Sisseton, Wahpeton, Wahpekute, Yankton, Yanktonai and Teton - camped at a certain location. It was the responsibility of the elite Akicita Warrior Society to make sure the groups camped in the right place. The design on the skull was the Society's sign of authority. Each triangle around the circle in the design represents a different group's encampment. Horns have buffalo hair wraps with 20" fringe. Feathers and buffalo tail hair adorn the center of the snout.

Size(s): 21" x 28"

Artist: Shadowhawke

Price: Price available upon request


Share with: